Formed in 1975, the Basketmakers’ Association is the leading organisation for basketmaking, chair seating and allied crafts in the UK. Our aim is to promote the knowledge of basketry, chair seating and related crafts through their making, study, teaching, collection and use.

We strive to maintain standards of teaching and quality of workmanship. We research and record traditional making, conserving this knowledge and these skills for future generations. We also encourage new ideas and innovation in design and making, supporting all basketmakers and chair seaters.

We host and promote classes, courses, exhibitions, discussions and lectures. Please look at the COURSES and EVENTS

We publish various books and instructional DVDs. Please visit the SHOP.

Members of more than two years standing can apply for BURSARIES to improve skills and knowledge.

We publish a quarterly NEWSLETTER as a regular means of communication between all those interested in the crafts.

Our UK and international membership of around 700 includes:

Chair seaters and allied craftsmen
Contemporary fibre artists
Materials and equipment suppliers.

Everyone and anyone interested in basketry! The success of the Association is its diversity, and the willingness of members to share their knowledge and skills.

The majority of the photographs in the GALLERY were taken by ASTRID McGECHAN

The Basketmakers’ Association is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered in England & Wales No. 8199799. Registered office: The Basketmakers’ Association Ltd. International House, 24 Holborn Viaduct, London EC1A 2BN. Please do not use this address to contact the BA.

The Rules of the BA are available as a PDF document

The BA Annual Accounts are available as a PDF document

If anyone would like a copy of the Articles of the Association, please apply to the SECRETARY 


The BA Committee

CHAIR:                 Geraldine Poore
VICE CHAIR:       Melanie Hart
TREASURER:      Selena Chandler
SECRETARY:       Katharine Woodward

Erica Adams
Lucy Bampton
Louise Brown
Geri Clarke
Alison Dickens
Jo McGaughey
Sue Papworth
Clare Revera

PRESIDENT:         Rae Gillott

Off-Committee Members

BA E-News and
Dates for the diary:          Bunty Ball
Website Administrator:   Mel Bastier
Bursaries:                           Mary Butcher
BA Sales:                            Iris Hawkes
Westhope Courses:         Jill Witham


Membership and
Enhanced Membership:      Rae Gillott
Newsletter:                            Erica Adams
Bursaries:                               Alison Dickens
BA Courses:                           Melanie Hart
BA Website:                           Melanie Hart
Local Groups:                        Geri Clarke
Library and Archive:             Geri Clarke
BA Publications:                    Clare Revera
BA Qualifications:                  Clare Revera
BA Insurance:                        Sue Papworth